Kane’s Korner

Kane Phelps
Membership Chair, LA-CAMFT

Kane’s Korner:

I am writing to you all in the midst of the holidays and it seems like a good time to take a deep breath and appreciate, just appreciate each other, not only for the work we do, but for the sweetness that emanates throughout our organization. This is my last message to you as Membership Chair and I want to offer much thanks to Shelley and the entire leadership team for guiding us through a particularly eventful and challenging year.

A humongously warm welcome to new and renewing members: Michael Southerland, Kadrea Forte, and Priscilla Casillas, Toni Kells, and Christian Vincent! We trust that your membership will provide great value over the coming year(s). Heartfelt congratulations to our two newest board members: Rezal Gillis-Martinez, officer and board secretary, and Matthew Evans who is co-chairing our newly established Social Media Committee.

Our holiday party on December 10th was, once again, a highlight of our year together. Great food, fellowship and celebration. President Shelley introduced our president-elect for 2018, Christina Castorena. Then our resident ritual master, Nattan Hollander, led the annual ceremony honoring LACAMFT members who became licensed in 2017. Jubilant cheers honoring newly licensed members; Daniel Chazanas, Abby Krom, Nina Moradi, Chauney Peck, and Jenni Wilson, who has also been doing a fabulous job as our speaker chair. And finally, Dinko Zidarich, who participated in the ritual as a newly licensed member last year, gave an inspiring welcome to the new pros as seasoned clinicians gathered around in support and celebration.

Closing out the holiday party, Jonathan Flier, Darlene Basch, and Robert Boress led a holiday sing along. May that the good cheer of our Winter celebration follow you every day of this new year!